Helping consumers in LA and throughout Southern California
PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.
Experienced attorneys here to help you recover costs associated with persistent automotive problems.
Before you make a claim under the lemon law, you need to make sure that you have a valid claim. If you want to file under the lemon law for new cars, then you must discover the definition of new under the law. The California Department of Consumer Affairs explains that different types of vehicles may qualify under this law and that the lemon law mainly covers new vehicles but it may cover used cars that meet the new car criteria.
The law will cover leased and financed vehicles along with those you buy outright with cash. It covers cars, trucks, SUVs, vans and pickups. It also covers the chassis of a motor home and any vehicle you buy for personal household use. The vehicle must weigh under 10,000 gross. It can be a business vehicle but only if the owner has less than five registered vehicles in the state. The law does not cover motorcycles or the living or home part of an RV.
Your vehicle must be within 18 months of purchase or have less than 18,000 miles on the odometer. The lemon law only applies to vehicles that are under the original manufacturer warranty. This is important because coverage under other types of warranties do not qualify under this law. You must have the original warranty that came from the factory. You should check with the vehicle manufacturer to make sure that the vehicle warranty is still valid before you submit a lemon law claim. If it is out of warranty, then you cannot file a lemon law claim.